why do i read…

Maruti Naik
1 min readJun 2, 2018

--

Dear Ms. Badhwar,

I read your column regularly; the one that appears in the Mint.

I cannot really recall the first time I got acquainted with this column; should be about a couple of years now. Recently I read some of your earlier work as well. Of that, one of the most brilliant ones is where you posed the question which I now attempt to answer — link to article here -https://www.livemint.com/Leisure/P6K2uXMPgz4KO7VL0OryNL/The-story-of-me.html

Here goes

  1. I read because of the images your writing brings forth. Almost always it triggers a long lost memory, a moment which had come and gone suddenly reappears, sometimes joyful and sometimes sad.
  2. I read because your writing brings me peace, sometimes there are so many things one wants to say/write, seeing it written by someone else I believe just strikes a chord.
  3. I read because there is nary a time when i have not re-read the column, there is nary a time when i have not had a lump in my throat most times in the first reading. Your stories remind me of my own, how difficult it is to speak about things that are really most important, the choices we make in our lives, how we are shaped by the responsibilities we embrace, the justifications, and above all the constant struggle to get out of our comfort zones.
  4. I read because you are so damn good. Do please keep up the good work.

--

--

Maruti Naik

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write