the master’s list

Maruti Naik
Jul 14, 2022

--

praise him
hail him
there is no limit
you can do so
to the sky
and moon beyond

the metre
the grammar
unimportant
its all music to our master
his appetite insatiable
praise the fodder
needed to feed his insecurity
his raison d’être

criticise
of course
you must
we need to maintain
that facade of democracy
but then you have to do so
using words we vet
and phrases we provide

our souls may be dead
but you see
our ears still turn red
in moments unguarded
shame rises like bile

today
its your words
we dictate
tomorrow
it will be
your actions
your thoughts
your very being
your very existence

slaves to our whims
a feverish dance
no matter the tune

oh wait
aren’t you already there
isn’t the future already here
is this what you wanted
….ENJOY

--

--

Maruti Naik

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write