the empty swing

Maruti Naik
1 min readMay 28, 2024

--

Photo by Andrea Music on Unsplash

weary feet
stumbled home
the earth outside
hotter than ever
what with remnants
of tragic mistakes
strewn all over

we returned to earth
our dreams
some seven year old
some ten days old

home! I stand corrected
let’s just call it a prison

like it always does
the night yielded to
the sun and day
my sorrow clearer now
but can you see
the void that till
yesterday was my heart
or feel the grief
that runs in me
instead of blood

now we have nothing
but memories
and lullabies we sang
and smiles we carry
in a corner of
our hearts
that your mistakes
have not yet erased

we will gather under
the trees now orphaned
and hear the laughter
of our children
when the wind gently
will caress their swings
now empty

and I hope you
will hear my child’s
screams
when you hold your ear
to the wall you pray
listen carefully
her scream is no different
from the wails
you have heard
so far

my tears are no different
than yours
no matter the eye
they flow the same

--

--

Maruti Naik

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write