notes to a younger self

Maruti Naik
1 min readJan 27, 2023

--

a few days ago
we found some letters
and notes scribbled
on hotel stationery
on company diary pages
on postcards & inland letters
yeah, that’s how old they are

scribbles full of optimism
a dream on every line
hope in every punctuation
smiles in every paragraph
the envelopes had
line drawings
of a house, some hills
a sun peeking through
and a few birds
hard to say
whether they were coming home
or flying away

also found some
tear stained ones, we had
preserved to remind us
of what could have been
of life passing us by
of plans going awry
of ability not keeping up

but then, these were few

we have travelled
many a long mile
ran, walked, crawled
always moved forward
hasn’t been perfect
but here we are
still looking for that rainbow
to dress our dreams

another journey awaits

our younger selves
would be happy to know this

--

--

Maruti Naik

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write