just another day

Maruti Naik
1 min readFeb 8, 2020

--

Children being questioned
for a play they staged,
their mother behind bars,
alone, separated, her freedom caged.

Up above,
a vale shrouded in a veil,
cast upon her by men insecure
who promised roses, delivered manure.

Questions now equal sedition
50 people just got booked
main issue this delhi election
who had this biryani cooked

A mother waits
for news of a son
who one day left
never to return
her news cycle past
our present consumed by hate
forgets her easily
leaving her alone to her fate.

Another mother who set sail
crossing the many seas of justice
the lady in blindfold makes her wait
we pretend not to notice

And yet the emperor carries on
making a tunnel underground
to a temple he hardly visits
where promises made are seldom found

A budget i hear was just recited
a speech lasting many an hour
eyes were blinked, mics were shagged
frowns on faces and voices were sour.

Is that tunnel just an escape route
to save face and scoot
campaign perfume now just a stench
anyway the economy in a trench

--

--

Maruti Naik

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write