eternal waari

Maruti Naik
3 min readJun 30, 2023

--

from Digu Tipnis

I will not claim
to have received
a divine call
to come visit you
I was but
a wee child when
we first met
you seemed blurry
a fog around you

when I returned home
why did grandma
fall at my feet
what inspired her
to cross
that generational chasm
with that step

I had laughed then
found her to be gullible
took me many suns
to discover it was
actually her innocence
and that it strengthened
the unwavering faith
of a true devotee

we met often
the Lord and I
in poems invisible
shunted to remote parts
of my textbooks in school
in which he appeared
still hazy
also in our temple
where one full pitched song
after another
stretched evening into night
Tukoba’s words
helped lift the fog
a bit
as he introduced me afresh
to the dusky Lord
though I must confess
I remained confined
to the letter
as we sang
O supreme soul
the spirit of the words
remained elusive
as they are even now

I decided then
there is no alternative
but to join Tukoba’s ranks
did you see me, my Lord
as we swayed to the humble
cymbal in our hands

Like a boat mid river
I stop often now
to catch my breath
I think of him
more often now
not to ask for
anything material
he knows
I never prostrated
out of fear
nor attempted to beguile
with offerings of an empty stomach
he knows
when I fold my hands
it is to acknowledge
the river of motherly love
flowing at his feet

take me to my Vittal
my grandma would say
that I could not do so
remains to this day
on top of my
ever growing list of regrets

I now realise
that upon my return
many moons ago
she saw in me
her Lord himself
for her anyone
who made the pilgrimage
became one with the Lord
became the Lord

I now realise that
what she meant
was for me
to find the divine
within myself

my search
for my Vittal
continues

my waari eternal

Inspired by some lovely verses on Twitter written in Marathi by Digu Tipnis a few days ago on the occasion of Ashadi Ekadashi. I do hope that this does justice to his brilliant work — any shortcomings in translation are purely my own. Many thanks to my friends Chandragupta and Deepak for their help in editing and feedback.

अजूनही स्पष्ट आठवतं
तुला अंधुकसं पाहिलं होतं
तेव्हाही तुझं रूप
काहीच न कळता देखील
डोळ्यात तसंच राहिलं होतं
तुझी पहिली भेट झाली
त्यावेळी शाळकरी वयात होतो मी
तसा तुझ्या ओढीनं
तुझ्याकडे आलो होतो असंही नाही
पण मग घरी आल्यावर
आमच्या म्हातारीने
माझ्या पायावर का घातला असेल दंडवत?

का म्हणाली असेल आजी — तू त्याला बघून आलास,
मला तुझ्यात इट्टल भेटला
हसलो होतो त्यावेळी
तिच्या भोळसट भक्तीला
पण भोळसट असल्याशिवाय
भक्ती करताच येत नाही
हे ही फार उशिराच कळले

तसा नंतर तू भेटत राहिलास
अंधुकसा कधी
बालभारतीच्या अभंगवाणी नावाच्या
कोनाड्यात पडलेल्या कवितेतून
तर कधी म्हातारीच्या
आर्त निरागस हाकेतून
गावातल्या कौलारू मंदिरात चाललेल्या अभंगा
रात्री मीही जागवल्यात कवचित वेळी

गायकी नसताना गळे काढणाऱ्यांना
तू कधी भेटला की नाही माहीत नाही
पण तुकोबांच्या शब्दात मात्र
लख्खपणे उजळून निघायचास तू
तुझं ते सावळं रूप
तुकोबांनीच दाखवलं होतं
मग हात धरून त्यांनीच माऊलींना भेटवलं
‘आता विश्वात्मके देवें’ या तीन शब्दातच
आम्ही तेव्हा अडकलो होतो
आजही तिथेच आहोत

मग ठरवलं तुकोबांचे बोट
पकडण्याशिवाय तरणोपाय नाहीच
पारायणात टाळकऱ्यांच्या रांगेत
कधी कधी उभा असायचो
मी आठवत असेल ना तुला

आता ही नाव नदीच्या मध्यात आल्यावर
तुझी आठवण झाली
कदाचित थोडी धाप लागलीये
म्हणूनही असेल पण तुला
काही मागण्यासाठी मात्र म्हणून नक्कीच नाही
तुझा आधार हा असाच आहे
तुला कधी आम्ही नवस केला नाही की
भितीपोटी दंडवत सुद्धा
तुझ्यापुढे हात जुळतात तेदेखील
तुझ्या ठायी असलेल्या वात्सल्यामुळेच

म्हातारी जायच्या आधी
मला म्हणाली होती
एकदा इट्टलाच्या दारात घेऊन जा मला
तिची ती इच्छा तशीच राहून गेली
ते पाप माझ्याच माथी आता
समजतं म्हातारीला
माझ्यात तिचा इट्टल का दिसला होता
ते अर्थात आताशा
मी सुद्धा माझा विठ्ठल शोधत आहेच…
वेळ मिळेल तसा…

--

--

Maruti Naik

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write