a nightmare

Maruti Naik
Aug 17, 2022

--

Photo by Pat Whelen on Unsplash

long ago
rape and murders foul
justice was done
or so we thought
then the two headed ghoul
of twisted imagination
stood on the ramparts
made another promise
covering fire
for a remission

the eleven came out
serenaded and hailed
but those garlands
failed to mask the stench
of decayed souls
families claimed
empty shells
which long ceased
to be human
just breathing
just being
without feeling

no 50 word edits
the balancer also failed
to speak up
or to chide
like always
they chose to hide

the flag lifeless
there is no wind
not even a slight breeze
just pouring rain

i wish
nature curses those eleven
with nightmares
burning screams
shadows that haunt
and clocks that chant
when their time is
dusted & done
the child they killed
should wait at the gates
& beseech the book keeper
to justify please
the words
divine justice

--

--

Maruti Naik

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write