Maruti Naik
Dec 11, 2021

--

A good friend wrote back, after reading this poem . She asked "What is your idea of an equal sky"?

this is what I wrote back -

a sky that all can look at

gasp at the colors

it reveals at dawn

marvel at the colors

it displays at dusk

a daily reminder of its

partnership

with that great artist called nature

the sky a canvas

bespoke to each beholder

a sky that allows

someone to find words

hidden in the stars it shelters

and that immortal verse

etched across the moon

waxing and waning

testing patience

teasing ability

staying just beyond

the poet's grasp

a sky that cradles hope

in a tern finding

its way home

and providing joy for a child

as it nestles the kite she holds

a sky not owned by any one

a sky that belongs to every one

--

--

Maruti Naik

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write